Lizzy Croghan,  Elyssa’s Mission blogger

Lizzy Croghan,
Elyssa’s Mission blogger

Lizzy Croghan regularly blogs for Elyssa’s Mission sharing her insightful and sincere perspectives.

PMDD is classified as a severe extension of PMS and causes abnormal mood swings. Statistics say 5 out of 100 women have it. The most common age range for the onset of PMDD is late 20s through mid-30s. Symptoms of PMDD emerge 10 days before a woman’s menstruation begins and include depression, anxiety, insomnia and difficulty concentrating (Ewens, Hannah). Alarmingly, 15% of women with PMDD attempt suicide (Thielen, Jacqueline).

Although there is no known cure for PMDD, treatments which can alleviate the symptoms include antidepressants, birth control, herbal remedies and diet changes. One can also exercise and drink less caffeine to reduce symptoms of PMDD.

While I don’t have PMDD, I do have bad PMS. During ovulation, I am hormonal, unbalanced, prone to tears and very irritable. All the demons I am currently battling such as having no job and living at home (or whatever my demons at the time may be as they are always changing) become exasperated during my PMS. When I do finally menstruate, I feel relief that perhaps I am not going insane. I wanted to write this article to speak on behalf of those with PMDD and bad PMS that can trigger depression. I wanted to let them know that during their time of the month when they feel like they are losing it, they are not alone. My advice to those who suffer from bad PMS like I do would be to exercise daily and drink less caffeine. . .and realize it is simply your body and hormones playing mind games with you.

Sources

  1. Thielen, Jacqueline. “PMDD” http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/premenstrual-syndrome/expert-answers/pmdd/faq-20058315 Accessed April 21, 2016.
  1. Ewens, Hannah. “Living with PMS That Makes You Want To Die” https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/living-with-pms-that-makes-you-want-to-die Published Sep 2015. Accessed April 21, 2016.
